Navigation and service

Welcome to the German National Library

Deutscher Platz 1 / 04103 Leipzig / Opening hours and getting there
Adickesallee 1 / 60322 Frankfurt am Main / Opening hours and getting there

Walther Rathenau – Leben und Werk eines konservativen Liberalen // Lecture by Wilhelm von Sternburg // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // Thursday, 5 October 2017, 19:00

Porträt Walther Rathenau

Born 150 years ago, the future foreign minister of the Weimar Republic, Walther Rathenau, became the representative of a new middle class that was to play a crucial role in the economic awakening of Germany and in deciding the path taken by the European states in the First World War. Yet he always remained an outsider - not least as a Jew in a society suffused with latent and soon virulent anti-Semitism. When Walther Rathenau was shot down in broad daylight by the extreme right in 1922, democratic Germany gathered for the last time in mass protest against the racist madness and the voices of violence that would eventually destroy the German Republic.

Journalist Wilhelm von Sternburg talks about the life and work of a conservative liberal who reflected the contradictions of his era. (Photo: Federal Archives, image 183-L40010 / CC-BY-SA 3.0)

Free admission
To reserve a place, please send an e-mail to .de, or call +49 69 1525-1961.

A world of knowledge awaits you // Apprenticeship Day // German National Library in Leipzig // Thursday, 5 October, 14:00 - 18:00

Ausbildungstag

Apprentices of the German National Library will again be providing information on the apprenticeships offered at the Leipzig site, and giving potential candidates the opportunity to gain an overview of the different areas, ask questions and talk to the current apprentices. The library offers apprenticeships in media and information services (specialising in librarianship) and in IT (specialising in systems integration). (Photo: German National Library, Tina Aischmann)

Meet in the foyer of the old building.
Admission is free of charge.

Students' Special // Orientation sessions for first year students // German National Library in Leipzig // Thursday, 5 October and Friday, 6 October 2017

Blick in den Musiklesesaal des Deutschen Musikarchivs

The German National Library is offering special orientation sessions for first-year students during the first week of the semester.
Students can find out all about the use of digital publications and the possibilities offered by the Library for academic work and research at 11:00 on both Thursday, 5 October and Friday, 6 October. (Photo: German National Library, Christian Horn)
A separate orientation session devoted to the services provided by the German Music Archive of the German National Library is scheduled for Thursday, 5 October at 10:00.

Admission to all these events is free.
Meet in the foyer of the old library building.
Advance registration is not required.
Separate appointments can be arranged for groups by contacting .

OPEN BOOKS 2017 - Opening ceremony on the "Blue Sofa" // With Eva Demski, Jürgen Becker, Didier Eribon and the winner of the German Book Prize 2017 // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // Tuesday, 10 October 2017, 20:00

Foto: Porträt der Frankfurter Schriftstellerin Eva Demski

OPEN BOOKS presents the major autumn releases at various locations around the Römer in the city centre to coincide with the Frankfurt Book Fair. The city's reading festival is traditionally opened on the "Blue Sofa". Talking this year in the German National Library about their latest books will be the Frankfurt author Eva Demski ("Den Koffer trag ich selber. Erinnerungen"), the poet and Büchner Prize-winner Jürgen Becker ("Graugänse über Toronto"), the French sociologist and novelist Didier Eribon ("La société comme verdict"), as well as the winner of the German Book Prize just announced the day before. The presenters and comperes of the event will be Luzia Braun (ZDF), Barbara Wahlster, René Aguigah, and Volker Weidermann. The "Blue Sofa" is organised by Bertelsmann, ZDF and Deutschlandfunk Kultur together with Kulturamt Frankfurt am Main and the German National Library. (Photo: Wolfgang Schopf)

Admission EUR 9.00 / reduced EUR 7.00. Tickets available from www.frankfurtticket.de
Remaining tickets on the door

"Syrien. Ein Land ohne Krieg" Book launch // Interview and photo presentation with Lamya Kaddor and Lutz Jäkel // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // Wednesday, 11 October 2017, 19:30

Buchcover "Syrien. Ein Land ohne Krieg"

Syria is a rich country in historical, cultural and human terms. It has always pivoted between the Orient and the Occident, representing a transit region for long-distance trade on the Incense and Silk roads. Many peoples and religions have left their mark, making the area one of the world's most beautiful and most important cultural regions. The volume combines photos by Lutz Jäkel, documenting everyday life in Syria before the war, with personal essays of renowned Syrian, German-Syrian and German authors who have set down their thoughts on their homeland, on the land of their parents and on their travels.

On this evening the editor, Lamya Kaddor (German-Syrian journalist, Islamic scholar and religious educator) and the photo and video journalist Lutz Jäkel will be drawing attention to the country and its people, to daily life before 2011, and showing how people laughed, discussed, smoked, and celebrated in Syria.

Organised in cooperation between the Piper publishing house and the German National Library.

Free admission. Registration:

"Die Farbe Rot. Ursprünge und Geschichte des Kommunismus" // The author Gerd Koenen in conversation with Wolfgang Niess (SWR) // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // Thursday, 12 October 2017, 19:30

Porträt des Autors Gerd Koenen

Gerd Koenen tells the epic story of a dream which is as old as humanity itself. This dream of a community in which all people are good to each other and no-one is the servant of anyone else left a huge mark through the centuries until 1917 when the Russian Revolution brought Communism to power. At which point the dream became a nightmare. In conversation with Wolfgang Niess the author portrays the history of Communism and describes the reasons behind the appeal of the Communist idea. At the same time he brings home why the struggle for social justice in a world of capitalism remains legitimate and relevant today, but also how and why Communism's rendezvous with history ended in terror and paranoia. (Photo: Christoph Mukherjee)

Organised in cooperation between Hessische Landeszentrale für politische Bildung, the C. H. Beck publishing house and the German National Library.

Free admission, booking: or call +49 611 324020

Shaping Access! More Responsibility for Cultural Heritage // Working together // 7th International Conference // German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // 19 to 20 October 2017

Logo Zugang gestalten

Digitization could enable access to our cultural heritage and thus make an important contribution to the knowledge society of our future. Digitization facilitates and promotes networking and cooperation across institutional and national boundaries and combines sectors, which had been divided so far. But what are the prerequisites for good cooperation? When does it work? And where and why does it fail? International experts from cultural institutions, academia, business, society and politics will explore the opportunities and limitations of cooperation when it comes to making cultural heritage accessible in the digital world.

Under the patronage of the German Commission for UNESCO // Sharing Heritage – European Culture Heritage Year 2018

German speeches will be translated simultaneously into English.
Free admission. Registration at www.zugang-gestalten.de/registrierung

A dialogue about licensing information and rights documentation – Establishing sustainable data flows// German National Library in Frankfurt am Main // Tuesday, 7 November 2017, 10:00–17:00

Veranstaltung im Vortragssaal der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main

The German National Library has chosen "A dialogue about licensing information and rights documentation - Establishing sustainable data flows" as the motto of its information event dedicated to the subject of licence details and legal notices for digital objects. The event will focus on individual reports from and the exchange of ideas with information providers e.g. in the fields of publishing, libraries, repositories, museums and archives. (Photo: German National Library, Stephan Jockel)

The aim is to promote the declaration of licence information and legal notices concerning the re-use of digital content. Legally secure, transparent, standardised and machine-readable information in the bibliographic metadata are essential for the production, dissemination and exchange of open and freely accessible digital data and works in the cultural, scientific and educational fields.

Participants can now register for the event.
Further information and event programme (available only in German)

Additional Information

Information

The following applications and services will not be available from 8:00 to 10:00 on Tuesday, 26 September due to maintenance work: portal log-in and searches, Wi-Fi log-in, user accounts, use and delivery of online publications, WebDewey Deutsch.
It will only be possible to order media via the Information or Issues desks.

This Page

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main

Navigation und Service

Willkommen bei der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek

Deutscher Platz 1 / 04103 Leipzig / Öffnungszeiten und Verkehrsanbindung 
Adickesallee 1 / 60322 Frankfurt am Main / Öffnungszeiten und Verkehrsanbindung

Walther Rathenau – Leben und Werk eines konservativen Liberalen // Vortrag von Wilhelm von Sternburg // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // Donnerstag, 5. Oktober 2017, 19 Uhr

Porträt Walther Rathenau

Geboren vor 150 Jahren, wurde der spätere Außenminister der Weimarer Republik, Walther Rathenau, zum Repräsentanten eines neuen Bürgertums, das den wirtschaftlichen Aufbruch Deutschlands und den Weg der europäischen Staatenwelt in den Ersten Weltkrieg entscheidend mitbestimmen sollte. Dabei blieb er stets ein Außenseiter – auch als Jude in einer Gesellschaft mit latentem und bald virulentem Antisemitismus. Als Walther Rathenau 1922 von Rechtsradikalen auf offener Straße niedergeschossen wurde, versammelte sich das demokratische Deutschland zum letzten Mal zu einem massenhaften Protest gegen den rassistischen Wahn und die Stimmen der Gewalt, die die deutsche Republik schließlich zerstören sollten.

Der Publizist Wilhelm von Sternburg spricht über Leben und Werk eines konservativen Liberalen, der die Widersprüche seiner Epoche widerspiegelt. (Abbildung: Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-L40010 / CC-BY-SA 3.0)

Eintritt frei
Wir bitten um Anmeldung unter oder +49 69 1525-1961.

Eine Welt voller Wissen erwartet Dich // Ausbildungstag // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // Donnerstag, 5. Oktober 2017, 14 bis 18 Uhr

Ausbildungstag

Auszubildende und Ausbildende der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek informieren über die Ausbildungsberufe am Standort Leipzig und bieten Interessierten die Möglichkeit, Einblicke in die Ausbildungsbereiche zu erhalten, Fragen zu stellen und mit den Auszubildenden ins Gespräch zu kommen. Ausgebildet werden Fachangestellte für Medien- und Informationsdienste, Fachrichtung Bibliothek, und Fachinformatiker/innen, Fachrichtung Systemintegration. (Foto: Deutsche Nationalbibliothek, Tina Aischmann)

Treffpunkt ist im Foyer des historischen Bibliotheksgebäudes.
Der Eintritt ist frei.

Studi-Spezial // Einführungsveranstaltungen für Erstsemester // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Leipzig // Donnerstag, 5. Oktober und Freitag, 6. Oktober 2017

Blick in den Musiklesesaal des Deutschen Musikarchivs

Für Studienanfängerinnen und -anfänger bietet die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek während der Erstsemesterwoche spezielle Benutzungseinführungen an.
Über die Möglichkeiten des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens und Recherchierens sowie die Nutzung digitaler Publikationen können sich Studierende am Donnerstag, 5. Oktober und am Freitag, 6. Oktober jeweils um 11 Uhr informieren. (Foto: Deutsche Nationalbibliothek, Christian Horn)
Die Angebote des Deutschen Musikarchivs der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek sind Thema einer eigenen Einführungsveranstaltung am Donnerstag, 5. Oktober, um 10 Uhr.

Der Eintritt für alle genannten Termine ist frei.
Treffpunkt ist das Foyer im historischen Bibliotheksgebäude.
Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.
Gruppen können unter gesonderte Termine vereinbaren.

OPEN BOOKS 2017 – Eröffnung mit dem "Blauen Sofa" // Mit Eva Demski, Jürgen Becker, Didier Eribon und der Trägerin / dem Träger des Deutschen Buchpreises 2017 // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // Dienstag, 10. Oktober 2017, 20 Uhr

Foto: Porträt der Frankfurter Schriftstellerin Eva Demski

OPEN BOOKS präsentiert zur Frankfurter Buchmesse die wichtigsten Neuerscheinungen des Bücherherbstes an verschiedenen Orten rund um den Römer. Das städtische Lesefest wird traditionell auf dem "Blauen Sofa" eröffnet. In diesem Jahr sprechen die Frankfurter Schriftstellerin Eva Demski ("Den Koffer trag ich selber. Erinnerungen"), der Lyriker und Büchnerpreisträger Jürgen Becker ("Graugänse über Toronto"), der französische Soziologe und Romancier Didier Eribon ("Gesellschaft als Urteil") sowie die/der am Tag zuvor frisch gekürte Gewinnerin/Gewinner des Deutschen Buchpreises in der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek über ihre neuen Bücher. Durch den Abend führt Luzia Braun, ZDF, es moderieren Barbara Wahlster, René Aguigah und Volker Weidermann. Das "Blaue Sofa" wird veranstaltet von Bertelsmann, ZDF und Deutschlandfunk Kultur gemeinsam mit dem Kulturamt Frankfurt am Main und der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek. (Foto: Wolfgang Schopf)

Eintritt EUR 9,00 / ermäßigt EUR 7,00. Tickets unter www.frankfurtticket.de
Restkarten an der Abendkasse

"Syrien. Ein Land ohne Krieg". Buchpremiere // Gespräch und Fotopräsentation mit Lamya Kaddor und Lutz Jäkel // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // Mittwoch, 11. Oktober 2017, 19:30 Uhr

Buchcover "Syrien. Ein Land ohne Krieg"

Syrien ist ein reiches Land. Historisch, kulturell, menschlich. Stets war es ein Scharnier zwischen Orient und Okzident, eine Durchgangsregion für den Fernhandel an der Weihrauch- und Seidenstraße. Zahlreiche Völker und Religionen haben ihre Spuren hinterlassen und das Gebiet zu einem der schönsten, bedeutendsten Kulturräume der Welt gemacht. Der Band vereint Fotos von Lutz Jäkel, die den Alltag in Syrien vor Ausbruch des Krieges dokumentieren, mit persönlichen Texten namhafter syrischer, deutsch-syrischer und deutscher Autorinnen und Autoren, die ihre Gedanken an ihre Heimat, an das Land ihrer Eltern und ihrer Reisen festhalten.

Die Herausgeberin Lamya Kaddor, deutsch-syrische Publizistin, Islamwissenschaftlerin und Religionspädagogin, und der Foto- und Videojournalist Lutz Jäkel lenken an diesem Abend den Blick auf das Land und seine Menschen, auf den Alltag vor 2011, und zeigen, wie man in Syrien gelacht, diskutiert, geraucht und gefeiert hat.

Eine Kooperation von Piper Verlag und Deutscher Nationalbibliothek.

Eintritt frei. Anmeldung:

"Die Farbe Rot. Ursprünge und Geschichte des Kommunismus" // Der Autor Gerd Koenen im Gespräch mit Wolfgang Niess (SWR) // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // Donnerstag, 12. Oktober 2017, 19:30 Uhr

Porträt des Autors Gerd Koenen

Gerd Koenen erzählt die epische Geschichte eines Traums, der so alt ist wie die Menschheit. Dieser Traum von der Gemeinschaft, in der alle Menschen einander gut sind und keiner mehr des anderen Knecht sein muss, hat eine gewaltige Spur durch die Jahrhunderte gezogen, bis 1917 die Revolution in Russland den Kommunismus an die Macht brachte. Und damit wird der Traum zum Albtraum. Im Gespräch mit Wolfgang Niess schildert der Autor die Geschichte des Kommunismus und beschreibt die Ursachen für die Anziehungskraft der kommunistischen Idee. Gleichzeitig führt er vor Augen, warum der Kampf um soziale Gerechtigkeit in einer Welt des Kapitalismus bis heute legitim und aktuell ist – aber ebenso wie und weshalb das Rendezvous des Kommunismus mit der Geschichte in Terror und Paranoia endete. (Foto: Christoph Mukherjee)

Eine Kooperation von Hessischer Landeszentrale für politische Bildung, C. H. Beck Verlag und Deutscher Nationalbibliothek.

Eintritt frei, Anmeldung: oder +49 611 324020

ZUGANG GESTALTEN! Mehr Verantwortung für das kulturelle Erbe // Zusammen Arbeiten // 7. Internationale Konferenz // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // 19. bis 20. Oktober 2017

Logo Zugang gestalten

Die Digitalisierung bietet die Chance, den Zugang zum kulturellen Erbe zu erleichtern und damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Wissensgesellschaft der Zukunft zu leisten. Sie ermöglicht und erleichtert die Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit über institutionelle und nationale Grenzen hinweg und verbindet bislang getrennte Sparten. Doch was sind die Voraussetzungen für gute Zusammenarbeit, wann funktioniert sie und wo und warum scheitert sie auch? Internationale Expertinnen und Experten aus Kulturinstitutionen, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Politik werden gemeinsam ausloten, wo Chancen und Grenzen der Zusammenarbeit liegen, wenn es darum geht, kulturelles Erbe in der digitalen Welt zugänglich zu machen.
Eine Veranstaltung unter der Schirmherrschaft der Deutschen UNESCO-Kommission e. V. // Ein Beitrag zum Europäischen Kulturerbejahr 2018 SHARING HERITAGE

Eintritt frei. Anmeldung unter www.zugang-gestalten.de/registrierung

Lizenzangaben und Rechtedokumentationen im Dialog – Datenflüsse nachhaltig gestalten // Deutsche Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main // Dienstag, 7. November 2017, 10–17 Uhr

Veranstaltung im Vortragssaal der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main

Unter dem Motto "Lizenzangaben und Rechtedokumentationen im Dialog – Datenflüsse nachhaltig gestalten" lädt die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek zu einer Informationsveranstaltung rund um das Thema Lizenzangaben und Rechtshinweise zu digitalen Objekten ein. Im Fokus der Veranstaltung stehen Erfahrungsberichte und ein Ideenaustausch mit Informationsanbietern unter anderem aus den Bereichen Verlag, Bibliothek, Repository, Museum und Archiv. (Foto: Deutsche Nationalbibliothek, Stephan Jockel)

Ziel ist es, die Vergabe von Lizenzangaben und Rechtshinweisen zur Nachnutzung von digitalen Inhalten umfassend zu fördern. Gerade für die Produktion und Verbreitung sowie den Austausch von offenen und frei zugänglichen digitalen Daten und Werken in Kultur, Wissenschaft und Bildung sind rechtssichere, transparente, standardisierte und maschinenlesbare Angaben in den bibliografischen Metadaten unerlässlich.

Die Anmeldung zur Veranstaltung ist ab sofort möglich.
Weitere Informationen und Programm der Veranstaltung

Zusatzinformationen

Information

Am Dienstag, 26. September, 8 Uhr bis 10 Uhr stehen folgende Anwendungen und Dienste wegen Wartungsarbeiten nicht zur Verfügung: Anmeldung und Recherche im Portal, Login ins WLAN, Benutzungskonto, Nutzung und Ablieferung von Netzpublikationen, WebDewey Deutsch.
Die Bestellung von Medien ist nur über die Information oder die Medienausleihe möglich.

Diese Seite

Schriftbanner mit Deutscher Nationalbibliothek Leipzig, Frankfurt am Main