Navigation and service

DDC Deutsch project

The DDC Deutsch project funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) was carried out from October 2002 to August 2005 at the Cologne University of Applied Sciences and the Deutsche Bibliothek (now German National Library . The aim of the project was to translate the 22nd Edition of the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system, which appeared in July 2003 in the United States, into German. Thus, the first German translation of the DDC was also the first translation of the 22nd edition.

In addition to a print edition in the internationally accepted form published in October 2005 by K. G. Saur Verlag (now De Gruyter Saur), the German National Library set up and operated a German DDC 22 web service called Melvil .

The actual translation work was carried out by the Cologne University of Applied Sciences. The following work areas have been carried out by the German National Library in Frankfurt am Main:

  • Cooperation with various institutions (the licensor OCLC (Online Computer Library Center), the Library of Congress (LoC), the DFG, consortium and the DDC Deutsch expert group)
  • Public relations and training
  • Updating and further development of DDC Deutsch
  • Coordination of the critical review of the translations produced in Cologne by colleague (PDF, 19KB, Not barrier-free file.) different libraries in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, in particular with regard to the terminology in the different disciplines and the extension or adaptation of the Relative Index terms to reflect the search habits of German users
  • IT support and development

To the DDC-German project pages of the Cologne University of Applied Sciences

Last update: 17.08.2017

This Page

Logo DDC-Deutsch

Navigation und Service

Projekt DDC Deutsch

Das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderte Projekt DDC Deutsch wurde von Oktober 2002 bis August 2005 an der Fachhochschule Köln und in Der Deutschen Bibliothek (heute Deutsche Nationalbibliothek) durchgeführt. Ziel des Projekts war die Übertragung der 22. Ausgabe der Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation (DDC), die im Juli 2003 in den USA erschienen ist, ins Deutsche. Die erste deutsche DDC-Übersetzung war damit zugleich die erste Übersetzung der 22. Ausgabe.

Neben einer Druckausgabe in der international üblichen Form, die im Oktober 2005 im K. G. Saur Verlag (heute De Gruyter Saur) erschienen ist, wurde ein deutscher Webservice zur DDC 22 mit dem Namen Melvil entwickelt, der von der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek vertrieben wird.

Die eigentliche Übersetzungsarbeit erfolgte an der Fachhochschule Köln. In der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek Frankfurt am Main waren bzw. sind folgende Arbeitsbereiche angesiedelt:

  • Kooperation mit verschiedenen Institutionen (dem Lizenzgeber OCLC (Online Computer Library Center), der Library of Congress (LoC), der DFG, dem Konsortium DDC Deutsch und der Expertengruppe DDC Deutsch)
  • Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Schulungsangebote
  • Aktualisierung und Weiterentwicklung der DDC Deutsch
  • Koordination der kritischen Überprüfung der in Köln angefertigten Übersetzung durch Kolleginnen und Kollegen (PDF, 19KB, Datei ist nicht barrierefrei) aus unterschiedlichen Bibliotheken in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Fachterminologie in den verschiedenen Disziplinen und die Erweiterung beziehungsweise Anpassung der Registerbegriffe an die Suchgewohnheiten deutscher Nutzer
  • IT-Betreuung und -Entwicklung

Zu den DDC-Deutsch-Projektseiten der Fachhochschule Köln

Letzte Änderung: 01.03.2012

Diese Seite

Logo DDC-Deutsch