Navigation and service

Melvil – the German Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) Web service

From the end of November 2012, DDC Deutsch is no longer offered online by the German National Library as MelvilClass, but as WebDewey Deutsch. Information on the transition from MelvilClass to WebDewey Deutsch can be found under FAQ. The changeover from MelvilSearch to WebDewey Search will also be effected at the same time.

Melvil

From 2006 until the end of 2012 the Melvil WebService was the online service of DDC Deutsch. Melvil was based on the translation of the 22nd Edition of the DDC which was published in a printed version in October 2005 by K. G. Saur Verlag (today De Gruyter Saur). Melvil included the classification tool MelvilClass and several other features including MelvilSearch, which for the first time permitted end users to conduct a word-based search of DDC-catalogued works. Other Melvil applications included MelvilSoap, MelvilRest and MelvilSnippet.

MelvilClass (see WebDewey Deutsch)

MelvilClass was a service for librarians and other users wishing to classify documents using DDC. Like its American version WebDewey, the classification tool included not only the content of the print edition but also built numbers for frequently recurring topics which could be expanded as required to reflect the needs of German-speaking users, and made searchable through additional Relative Index terms. In addition to enrichment with built numbers undertaken centrally by the German National Library, individuals or institutions were for the first time given the opportunity to store their own built numbers in a person or institution-based memory and to add further Relative Index terms. Comments could also be saved for persons or institutions in individual classes.

MelvilSearch (see WebDewey Search)

The MelvilSearch retrieval tool made global word-based searches possible for DDC-catalogued resources for the first time. Besides word-based searches in the index of the DDC Relative Index terms, users could now browse down to the deepest levels of the class hierarchies, and thus to the most specific topics. MelvilSearch met the condition for searching in DDC-catalogued titles, regardless of the provenance of the data. The millions of third-party data records present in the online catalogues of networks and libraries from the Library of Congress (LoC), the British National Bibliography, as well as the bibliographic data developed since 2006 in the Deutsche Nationalbibliografie using DDC were for the first time rendered usable for content-based searches. Using MelvilSearch required a connection via a local online catalogue or network catalogue. Requests were made for matches within a particular class and in this class plus the more specific subclasses in this catalogue. Clicking on the match number effected a transfer to the respective online catalogue where the found works were displayed.

At the end of 2012, MelvilSearch was replaced by WebDewey Search.

MelvilSoap (no longer available)

MelvilSoap offered networks and libraries seeking to embed DDC in their own services the opportunity to request the classification data via a SOAP interface.

MelvilRest (no longer available)

Like MelvilSoap, MelvilRest was a service for networks and libraries seeking access to German DDC data in order to build their own services on it or to integrate the data into their own services.

In contrast to MelvilSoap, which used the more cumbersome SOAP protocol, MelvilRest was based on the REST architecture. This made it possible to request the DDC data of a particular class by URL using the schema http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/<Notation>.</Notation>

For example, http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/025.431 yielded the data to 025.431 (Dewey Decimal Classification) and http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/T2--43 the data to 43 in Auxiliary Panel 2 (Germany, Central Europe). The data were protected by HTTP Basic Authentication; the access data were the same as for MelvilClass.) and http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/T2--43 the data to 43 in Auxiliary Panel 2 (Germany, Central Europe). The data were protected by HTTP Basic Authentication; the access data were the same as for MelvilClass.

MelvilSnippet (no longer available)

MelvilSnippet was a service for vascoda specialist portals and other Web services which wanted to integrate DDC browsing from MelvilSearch seamlessly into their own user interface.

The service generated an XHTML snippet for portal operators which could be integrated in the portal interface. The snippet included a class hierarchy of the DDC which could be navigated with hyperlinks, as well as links to the catalogue of the portal provider which could be used to launch a search for resources that are catalogued with a specific DDC number. The snippet could be inserted into the Web page through an IFrame or the include statements of most scripting languages.

These services have been replaced through provision of the DDC data subject to Creative Commons license as linked data. The German data are currently provided via dewey.info.

Last update: 05.01.2017

This Page

Logo DDC-Deutsch

Navigation und Service

Melvil – der deutsche Webservice zur Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation (DDC)

Ab Ende November 2012 wird die DDC Deutsch von der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek online nicht mehr als MelvilClass, sondern als WebDewey Deutsch angeboten. Informationen zum Umstieg von MelvilClass auf WebDewey Deutsch sind zu finden unter [FAQ zum Umstieg auf WebDewey Deutsch]. Zeitgleich erfolgt auch die Umstellung von MelvilSearch auf WebDewey Search.

Melvil

Der Webservice Melvil war von 2006 bis Ende 2012 der Online-Dienst der DDC Deutsch. Melvil basierte auf der Übersetzung der 22. Ausgabe der DDC, die im Oktober 2005 als Druckausgabe im K. G. Saur Verlag (heute De Gruyter Saur) erschien. Zum Angebot von Melvil gehörten neben dem Klassifikationstool MelvilClass mehrere Features, darunter MelvilSearch, das erstmals eine verbale Recherche für Endnutzer über DDC-erschlossene Titel ermöglichte. Weitere Anwendungen von Melvil waren MelvilSoap, MelvilRest und MelvilSnippet.

MelvilClass (siehe WebDewey Deutsch)

MelvilClass war ein Service für Bibliothekare und andere Anwender, die Dokumente mit der DDC klassifizieren wollen. Über dem Inhalt der Druckausgabe hinaus enthielt das Klassifizierungstool wie sein amerikanisches Vorbild WebDewey zusätzlich synthetische Notationen für häufig wiederkehrende Sachverhalte, die im Hinblick auf die Bedürfnisse deutschsprachiger Nutzer beliebig erweitert und durch zusätzliche Registereinträge suchbar gemacht werden konnten. Neben der zentral bei der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek vorgenommenen Anreicherung mit synthetischen Notationen bestand darüber hinaus erstmals die Möglichkeit, eigene – d.h. nur von einer Person oder Institution benötigte – synthetische Notationen in einem personen- oder institutionsbezogenen Speicher abzulegen und mit Registereinträgen zu versehen. Ebenso konnten Kommentare zu einzelnen Klassen personen- oder institutionsbezogen abgespeichert werden.

MelvilSearch (siehe WebDewey Search)

Mit dem Retrievaltool MelvilSearch wurde erstmals weltweit die verbale Suche nach mit der DDC erschlossenen Ressourcen ermöglicht. Neben der verbalen Suche im Index der DDC-Registereinträge konnte der Nutzer nun über die Ansicht der Hauptklassen in den Hierarchien der Klassen bis auf die tiefsten Ebenen und damit zu den spezifischsten Themen browsen. Mit MelvilSearch war die Voraussetzung für die Suche in DDC-erschlossenen Titeln unabhängig von der Provenienz der Daten gegeben. Die in den Online-Katalogen von Verbünden und Bibliotheken millionenfach vorhandenen Fremddaten aus der Library of Congress (LoC), der British National Bibliography sowie die seit 2006 in der Deutschen Nationalbibliografie mit DDC erschlossenen Titeldaten wurden damit für die inhaltliche Recherche erstmals wirklich nutzbar. Voraussetzung für die Anwendung von MelvilSearch war die Anbindung in einem lokalen Online-Katalog oder Verbundkatalog. Abgefragt wurden die Treffer zu einer Klasse und zu dieser Klasse plus den ihr untergeordneten spezielleren Klassen in diesem Katalog. Durch das Anklicken der Trefferzahl fand dann ein Wechsel in den jeweiligen Online-Katalog statt, wo die gefundenen Titel angezeigt wurden.

Seit Ende 2012 wird das Angebot von MelvilSearch durch WebDewey Search ersetzt.

MelvilSoap (nicht mehr verfügbar)

Für Verbünde und Bibliotheken, die die DDC in ihre eigenen Dienste einbinden wollen, bot MelvilSoap die Möglichkeit, die Klassifikationsdaten über eine SOAP-Schnittstelle abzufragen.

MelvilRest (nicht mehr verfügbar)

Wie MelvilSoap war MelvilRest ein Dienst für Verbünde und Bibliotheken, die auf deutschen DDC-Daten zugreifen wollen, um eigene Dienste darauf aufzubauen oder die Daten in ihre eigenen Dienste zu integrieren.

Im Unterschied zu MelvilSoap, das das schwergewichtigere SOAP-Protokoll verwendete, arbeitete MelvilRest mit der REST-Architektur. Dadurch war es möglich, die DDC-Daten einer bestimmten Klasse per URL abzufragen nach dem Schema http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/<Notation>. So lieferte z.B. http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/025.431 die Daten zu 025.431 (Dewey-Dezimalklassifikation) und http://melvil.d-nb.de/melvilrest/T2--43 die Daten zu 43 in Hilfstafel 2 (Deutschland, Mitteleuropa). Die Daten waren durch HTTP Basic Authentication geschützt; die Zugangsdaten waren dieselben wie für MelvilClass.

MelvilSnippet (nicht mehr verfügbar)

MelvilSnippet war ein Dienst für vascoda-Fachportale und andere Webangebote, die das DDC-Browsing aus MelvilSearch nahtlos in ihre eigenen Oberfläche integrieren wollten.

Der Dienst generierte den Portalbetreibern einen XHTML-Snippet, der in die Portaloberfläche eingebunden werden konnte. Der Snippet umfasste eine Klassenhierarchie der DDC, in der mit Hyperlinks navigiert werden konnte, sowie Links zu dem Katalog des Portalanbieters, mit denen eine Suche nach Ressourcen, die mit einer spezifischen DDC-Notation erschlossen sind, abgesetzt werden konnte. Der Snippet konnte über einen IFrame oder über die include-Anweisungen der meisten Skriptingsprachen in die Webseite eingefügt werden.

Diese Angebote werden ersetzt durch die Bereitstellung der unter Creative Commons-Lizenz stehenden DDC-Daten als Linked Data. Die deutschen Daten werden derzeit auf dewey.info zur Verfügung gestellt.

Letzte Änderung: 19.01.2016

Diese Seite

Logo DDC-Deutsch